Home > Uncategorized > Prelogue

Prelogue

Here goes nothing….this is my first attempt at blogging so bear with me.  My intention is to divulge some insight into one of my favorite foods, burgers, into the blogosphere.  To me, burgers are more than just extra padding for my belly.  Burgers represent all that is good in this world: meat and bread.  My goal is to travel around the Baltimore area and sample some of Charm City’s proudest native sons.  Why would I want to write about one of the most simplistic and over consumed items in America?  Because burgers are to me what turtles are to this guy:

            While I’m no Hamburglar or J. Wellington Wimpy from Popeye, I do eat a lot of them which makes me somewhat of an authority. Sprinkled in amongst my burger reviews you’ll find some random food musings and maybe some current event related commentary.  Also, if you can think of a clever name for my burger reviews, please let me know. 

 

            Explaining who I am will help you understand why I am undertaking such a meaty journey.  I got the name for this blog from my profession.  I am an attorney by trade so I figured I could lend my analytical skills to ripping apart and reconstructing the various elements of Baltimore’s burgers.  As you read, you’ll see that I refer to myself as Burger-at-Law and my trusty wife/sidekick as Bama Belle.  The names have been changed to protect the full bellied. 

            Along with burgers, I enjoy the company of my beautiful Bama Belle, my slug eating Schnauzer named Coach, and basking in the post championship glory of my beloved and mighty Crimson Tide.  Beyond that, I like to eat and talk about what I eat.  I also like to travel because traveling exposes me to food outside of my zip code.  The next logical step is to write about what I eat…oh wait…that’s what I’m doing now.  Check that off the list!

            Since my objective is to sample and review the burgers around the area, I’m going qualify what I mean by burger.  I’m not a snob when it comes to burgers, mainly because I hate snobbery.  Of course I only hate snobbery when it is something that I do not feel snobby about.  I’ll break this rule of snobbery at some point and feel free to call me out on it.  By burger, I mean any kind of meatish substance between two pieces of bread.  By “meatish” I mean any kind of meat or meat substitute.  Since I’m not a burger snob, I’ll also review veggie burgers with Bama Belle.  Bama Belle only eats veggie burgers or fish burgers, so when my cholesterol spikes, I can deviate away from ground beef and sirloin and opt for a low calorie black bean burger or ahi tuna treat. 

            My sampling will take me from diners, chain restaurants, pubs, haunts, classic restaurants, and establishments of high society.  Therefore, I will review McDonalds and Morton’s Steakhouse.  One thing you probably won’t see me do anytime soon is review a burger I made for myself.  That stems from the fact that I do not have a grill.  I live in an apartment complex run by fascists.  These fascists see to it that I’ll pay with life and limb if I try and exhibit my personality through grilling.  One day we will have a people’s revolt and overthrow this regime, but until then, I’ll just pay for my burgers or have Bama Belle treat me. 

            That’s enough of an intro.  I’ll begin with my first burger this Friday….so check back this weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Mommay
    February 17, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Since we are visiting this weekend, do you see Morton’s in the near future? Are you still going from place to place to collect the latest new movie toy–could it be Aviator? Please do not let me know because you know how compulsive I am and I will have to go everywhere to complete the full collection. Does that ring a bell?

    Tell Bama Belle hello and I can’t wait to see her. It’s been too long, but I will definitely bring the long green pj’s. And don’t let Burgerler at Law eat too many of those hamburgers or he’ll have to buy two seats on Southwest to see the Crimson Tide! xxoo

  2. February 17, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Who knew that my whole life I’ve known someone who loves burgers as much as I? It will be my pleasure to continue reading your soon-to-be very insightful blog on burgers. My only request is that you hunt down a Vietnamese restaurant that makes burgers so you can tell me if they are any good. I am obsessed with Vietnamese food and would be curious to taste a Vietburger with my bun ga nuong and pho tai nam.

    Keep up the good work!

    -DAB

  3. Bama Burgermeister
    February 17, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Mmmmmm!! I’m awaiting your first review with high anticipation. Coincidentally, I’m about to put two very nice ground sirloin patties on the grill now!

  4. Ground Round
    February 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    My thoughts to you as you begin your meaty journey.

    “A Hamburger is warm and fragrant and juicy. A hamburger is soft and nonthreatening. It personifies the Great Mother herself who has nourished us from the beginning. A hamburger is an icon of layered circles, the circle being at once the most spiritual and the most sensual of shapes. A hamburger is companionable and faintly erotic. The nipple of the Goddess, the bountiful belly-ball of Eve. You are what you think you eat.”

    -Richard Justice-

  5. hooligansteve
    February 19, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Perhaps you should snob it up even more and offer beer pairing choices? In any case, I look forward to being entertained by you. Good luck.

  6. hooligansteve
    February 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    And pictures!! We must have pictures of your conquests.

  7. bourbongeek
    February 20, 2010 at 11:08 am

    The beer to which you refer, Life and Limb, is probably only found on tap at this juncture, as it was parcelled out to 40 liquor stores within the entire state of Maryland, and sold out at most stores immediately

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment